Schedule and record with ALOT of cards www

Xlobby plugin development

Postby lar282 on Tue Jun 21, 2005 6:18 pm

wierd.So if u take that command line that my plugin creates, it still wont record for u or is it only tvpi file that is wrong?(What is tvpi?)

please explain more cause i'm curious. I only tried quick with chris-tv and there it works with my plugin and dabdig.

Also I fixed the -xx minutes for u. I cleaned up the code too alittle. the new parameter is in the ini file of the zip file. if not set it will default to zero.


//Lasse
lar282
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby embee on Tue Jun 21, 2005 10:53 pm

Lasse, sorry for taking your thread off topic....did you manage to come up with a solution for the question you asked on this thread? http://www.xlobby.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2990 I'd like to do that if at all possible :)
embee
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Sep 15, 2004 1:38 am

Postby jmb295 on Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:23 pm

Lasse,

The tvpi file is a xml file definition that is compatible with the majority of software for recording tv programs. It contains all the information about the program such as channel, title, start time, end time, ect..

What dabdig does when you send it the record command is generate a .tvpi file with the information you send it (that is if you have configured the tvpi parameters). If you execute the file that is generated, then the default program registered for handling that file type picks it up and schedules the program.

If I take the command from your saved file and run it on the shell, then the tvpi file is generated and executed. At that point a window pops up on my screen with all the correct info and asks to hit ok. Once I get it working I'll automate that part so I don't have to click the button anymore, but for now I want to see and make sure everyting is setup correctly.

When let the windows task scheduler execute the command dabdig generates the correct .tvpi file. But the file is not executed, so I never see the window pop asking me to confirm.

I think that you might not be using the tvpi portion of dabdig, it has to be configured in it's ini. The only one in the dabdig config that would work with the myHD card is the tvpi option, and that should be the most general of all.

Thanks for the minute enhancement!
jmb295
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: Sterling, Va

Postby lar282 on Wed Jun 22, 2005 1:43 pm

ahh, so it executes the .tvpi file... Maybe the error lies in that u run the task with a system account? When doing this u don't see any interaction at all. Try to set the userid and password parameter in the ini file to let the scheduler run in the credentials of the logged in user.


Can u do me a favor and send the .tvpi file to me or post the entire filecontent here. Curious why I shouldn't create a .tvpi file directly? I wonder how the -TVPI file is being executed?

Also please try to create a schedule task manually in your id and password with the same info that executed ok from the commandline. That whay u can see if it's the xlobby plugin or the task schedule that is causing the error.

//Lasse
lar282
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby jmb295 on Thu Jun 23, 2005 2:41 am

Lasse,

Here is what I posted in the support forum for someone else, just name the file with a .tvpi extension. If you not recording an hd signal then the tv-mode would be cable, and you wouldn't need the psip & stream values.

Here is an example of a tvpi file that will work with the myHD card.

<tv-program-info version="1.0">
<program>
<station>WTTGDT1</station>
<tv-mode>digital</tv-mode>
<program-title>The Simpsons</program-title>
<program-description>Worst Episode Ever</program-description>
<start-date>20050620</start-date>
<start-time>21:00</start-time>
<end-date>20050620</end-date>
<end-time>21:30</end-time>
<duration>00:30</duration>
<rf-channel>36</rf-channel>
<psip-major>5</psip-major>
<psip-minor>1</psip-minor>
<stream-number>1</stream-number>
</program>
</tv-program-info>

For myHD the tv-mode needs to be set to digital, and on my computer it is case sensitive. The rf-channel is the actual digital channel, while the psip major/minor are the virtual channel mapping values. I have the stream number hardcoded to 1 in the scripts I have written. And if I remember correctly the time start/end values must be set to GMT time, not your time zone.

I'll test out the userid stuff tomorrow, it sounds like that is the problem.
jmb295
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: Sterling, Va

Postby Paul Webster on Sat Jun 25, 2005 10:19 am

Sideways thought - I think I did start putting in some native suport for myHD - i.e. not having to go through TVPI mode.

It was a long time ago - and I do not have the hardware to test it against .. but I would be happy to revitalise it.
Then there would be no pop-up etc to worry about.

(also - in TVPI mode ... DABDig can send the key sequence to the OK - but as suggested above - not sure that this can work when running without a GUI available).

If you can send me some links to the myHD software/support page for the version that you use - I'll check to see if it is the same as the one I worked on ages ago.
Paul Webster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:00 am
Location: UK

Postby jmb295 on Sun Jun 26, 2005 2:14 am

Paul,

Here is the link to the latest software & manual:

http://www.digitalconnection.com/Support/cn_myhd_14.asp

I'm happy to help test for you, I have two myHD cards currently setup. I'm trying to get the userid to work with xp, when I set it to my login name it gives an error when attempting to schedule a recording from within xlobby. I may try and create a new account/password to test out. I didn't have a password assigned to my htpc login.
jmb295
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: Sterling, Va

Postby lar282 on Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:56 am

I think to be able to use schedule task one have to have a password.

I was thinking..U Dabdig user doesn't need schedule task at all and if u want I can just execute the command instead of scheduling it? Then there will be a new plugin command called execute_DabDig_Command


//Lasse
lar282
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby Paul Webster on Sun Jun 26, 2005 10:46 am

JMB - can you contact me directly (mail address at the top of the dabdig.ini)?

I will need a file from your system.
Reason - I had misremembered. The one that I had done work on in this area was the FusionHDTV application. However, I have now installed MyHD and the 2 are pretty similar (as far as scheduling recordings are concerned) so ... I think I can add direct support for it as well.
(It is difficult to verify that I am doing it right without the hardware though)
Paul Webster
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2005 5:00 am
Location: UK

Postby jmb295 on Sun Jun 26, 2005 2:38 pm

Lasse,

That would be great option if you can do it.

Joe
jmb295
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: Sterling, Va

Postby lar282 on Sun Jun 26, 2005 6:28 pm

jmb295 wrote:Lasse,

That would be great option if you can do it.

Joe


Done.this is the last change. I will try and freeze this plugin now. Wanna work on the burndvd plugin for a while.

New ini file paramter
USESCHEDULER=1
'If set to 1 it will use normal scheduling.If set to 0 then DABDIG user command will be sent right away not using scheduling.This is
' only usufull for DabDig users.


Download at the usuall place.See first post.




//Lasse
lar282
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby jmb295 on Wed Jun 29, 2005 12:15 am

Lasse,

Thanks for the change, I have a one small request left if you find time. The time change that you added starts the recording early by the amount of minutes that set in the ini file, and adds that many minutes to the duration. What I need to fully use your scheduling on my system is to have a value in the ini file that changes the time you execute the scheduled task at but not the time values.

For my programs to get recorded through the scheduler and the program starts at 8:00, then I need to have the program information passed to dabdig at 7:59. If the information is passed to dabdig at 8:00 then the start time is missed since it has already past.

With your & Paul's help I am now able to schedule a single recording from xlobby though, so a big thanks to your work. If you can make the change above then I'll be able to use all of the scheduling functions for your program.

This weekend I'll try and put your plugin in the skin I use.
jmb295
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 11:56 pm
Location: Sterling, Va

Postby lar282 on Thu Jul 07, 2005 7:01 am

Hi jmb295
I forgot about your request but now it should work


//Lasse
lar282
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Postby JSL on Thu Jul 21, 2005 8:55 pm

Hi Lasse,

Thanks for a very powerful plugin. At once you have given Xlobby's EPG guide meaning and tuned it for its intended use, namely for scheduling and recording of TV programs!

I hope furthermore your plugin have motivated Steven to prioritise the finalization of the EPG module (e.g. various design choices, number of hours showed in the EPG, choice of hours showed in 24 format, change of field color if a is program scheduled etc.).

I have one request for your plugin: You are using the same Overlay screen for all response by the Plugin (e.g. "Program deleted", "Schedule OK" etc.). The text is given by the variable plugin>XSchedule>statusSchedule. I can't however read the value of the variable (%plugin>XSchedule>statusSchedule%) if I want to e.g. copy the content to a Database/Category field, save to a Variable or the like. I can only get the value displayed in a text field on a screen. Would it be possible to make it so that I can read the value of the plugin>XSchedule>statusSchedule varible? (I what to be able to evaluate the plugin’s feedback)

Thanks in advance,

/JSL
JSL
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:22 am

Postby lar282 on Fri Jul 29, 2005 4:54 pm

JSL I didn't quite get it. Do u have the time to explain again?



//Lass
lar282
 
Posts: 1624
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

PreviousNext