Search by artist question..

Help each other out

Search by artist question..

Postby buymeapc on Sat Jul 22, 2006 6:36 pm

I have a search overlay which contains an onscreen keyboard, a category that is set to my music db filtered by artist, and an input box.

Is it possible to click on one of the artists in the filtered list and have the name drop into the input box?

Just like pressing a button with an ID of "show>a". This would be like "show>%display%" or "show>%artist%" or similar....


Is this a feature already available that I am missing or something new?

Thanks
buymeapc
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:53 pm

Postby Colby on Sat Jul 22, 2006 7:34 pm

what you are saying wont work. But why would you do this? If you have it filterd by artist why would you need a button input of that artist? You cant dynamically set the button ID, (too bad) so save to variable, variable set or button toggles wont work. Depending on what youre doing custom search may work better.
Colby
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 7:42 am
Location: Brookline Station, MO, USA

Postby buymeapc on Sun Jul 23, 2006 3:09 pm

Basically, what I am trying to accomplish is this:

I have a music video screen with a search button on it. When the search button is pressed, a virtual keyboard overlay appears with a category of my music db and an input box. To save from typing the entire name of an artist, I thought it might be easier if I could type in the first couple of letters of the artist's name and then select the name from the filtered list to have it auto-populate the input box.

It would simply be a time saver...Is there another way to do this?
buymeapc
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:53 pm

Postby Colby on Sun Jul 23, 2006 5:40 pm

I am still not clear what you mean you say:
I have a music video screen

Got it, does this screen have a category on it of your musicvideos?
search button is pressed, a virtual keyboard overlay appears with a category of my music db and an input box

Your MUSIC database or your music video database? What are you searching for albums or videos? What is the input box for, just to show what letters you type in?
I thought it might be easier if I could type in the first couple of letters of the artist's name and then select the name from the filtered list to have it auto-populate the input box

Where is this "filtered list"? Your music db on the overlay? Why would you need it to populate the input box? Why not just select it from the list and be done?

Generally I dont see how this is different than the current music search overlay. You should be using a filterdetails category then it will filter on the fly the more letters you type in.

If all you ever do is filter by artist, add that command to the event that opens the overlay.

Good Luck
Colby
 
Posts: 929
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2004 7:42 am
Location: Brookline Station, MO, USA

Postby buymeapc on Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:48 pm

I am sorry for not being totally clear, but your post gave me some inspiration.

does this screen have a category on it of your musicvideos?


Yes, currently the category contains the previously searched results. (I don't store any music videos, just stream them.) So, if I had searched for Dido the last time I was on this page, then the Dido music video names would still be shown in the category displayed on screen. I gotta figure out how to clear that list at startup....

Your MUSIC database or your music video database?


My music database is being displayed, showing only the artist names.

What are you searching for albums or videos?


I am searching for videos by artist name.

What is the input box for, just to show what letters you type in?


Yes.

Where is this "filtered list"? Your music db on the overlay?


Yes, filtered by artist name.

Why would you need it to populate the input box? Why not just select it from the list and be done?


Ahhh....this is what I needed to hear....I was only thinking of populating the input box and then clicking on the search button to perform a search. What I did instead was, I gave the filtered (music) database an "On Click" event that would assign the artist's name (that I clicked on) to a variable and then performed a search for that variable. Works like a charm!

EDIT:False alarm, it's not really working as I thought....back to the drawing board. :oops:

Thanks a bunch, Colby!! :D
buymeapc
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Mar 22, 2006 5:53 pm