Multi Source Multi zone

Help each other out

Multi Source Multi zone

Postby adccon on Fri Mar 05, 2010 2:01 pm

Hello all...i need some help / advice...

I am new to all of this and have read until my head hurts, so im sure im missing some answers that are out htere already...but...

What i would like to do is create a multi source / multi zone whole house audio distribution system. I have gotten as far as deciding that Xlobby is the best way to go with a number of additional programs, skins and plugins.

The total system would include 8 zones
1. M Bath
2. M Bedrm
3. Office
4. Kitchen
5. Back Porch
6. Living Room (with a dedicated 5.1 receiver)
7. Bedroom 2
8. Bedroom 3

The inputs would be:

1. mp3 library available at each zone (so 8 instances of winamp)
2. external CD player (connected to line in on one of the sound cards)
3. streaming radio (shoutcast / pandora)
4. AM/FM radio courtesy of a pci tuner card
5. potential future ipod / mp3 player connection (just in case someone comes over with an mp3 so can listen to it rather than copying files to music server).

So based on this info my plan is a music / media server running xlobby (Zone skin 5) with winamp instances and multiple creative sound cards per the KX driver site (i am figuring on two of the 7.1 cards). This configuration seems as if it will be difficult based on marbles info, but i shoudl be able to handle if i read enough, go slow and work through it.

My main questions are control at the zones.

1. Is the best way to do this with multiple touchscreens? (i want to use wall mounted solutions so i do not want to have a PPC in each room). As you can see this would be expensive with the number of zones. If this is the best way does anyone have suggestions on the actual touch screens (as far as what and where to get them).