XoapWeather 1.2

Xlobby plugin development

Postby Marbles_00 on Sat Apr 29, 2006 1:11 am

I can send it through email, as the skin is just over 4 megs in size. My email is mayhem.prod AT gmail DOT com. Send me an email and I will reply with the skin attached. If under 5 megs is too large for your ISP to handle through email (don't laugh, my limit is 5 megs exactly :( ), then I can send via FTP.

I'm game for anything.

I have to update my website, I thought I had included a screen capture of the weather page, but it is an older shot when I just used the weather map page from the Xweather plugin...I have to update that.

Once set up, let me know if you still have problems.

David
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Marbles_00 on Sat Apr 29, 2006 11:37 am

Sorry to ask a trivial question, but I missed this in my post. Did you change the path to the skin on your drive.

<path>C:\Program Files\xlobby\skins\ZoneSkin\databases</path>

Also if you want to try, here is the code on my weather screen to bring up the category.

Code: Select all
<eventbutton>
  <eventid>weather:overlay weatherimages</eventid>
  <imagename>weatherimages</imagename>
  <location>413,38,351,428</location>
  <navitem>True</navitem>
  <font>Digiface,2.5%,#1CFFE6,regular</font>
  <alignment>top left</alignment>
  <shadow>False</shadow>
  <type>category</type>
  <database>weatherimages</database>
  <display>%display%</display>
  <details></details>
  <ratio>1:1</ratio>
  <columns>2</columns>
  <layout>default all</layout>
  <scroll>Left Right</scroll>
  <rows>0</rows>
  <spacing>2</spacing>
  <nocover>xresource-cover-art-missing.png</nocover>
  <toplayer></toplayer>
  <backlayer></backlayer>
  <backlayerfolder></backlayerfolder>
  <selected>xresource-selector-square.png</selected>
  <unselected>xresource-selector-square-fade.png</unselected>
  <selectedabove></selectedabove>
  <unselectedabove></unselectedabove>
  <playinghighlight>xresource-selector-barhighlight.png</playinghighlight>
  <playingicon></playingicon>
  <inlisticon></inlisticon>
  <notinlisticon></notinlisticon>
  <online></online>
  <offline></offline>
  <keepaspectratio>False</keepaspectratio>
</eventbutton>


I use Xweather, so my refresh weather pages is using a different plugin, but also with that refresh I created an event with the command 'category/load http covers'. For the Category Name field I included weatherimages (name of my category).

When selecting an image I open up an overlay with the image enlarged. Here is the code for the overlay:

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<skin background="Zone.jpg">
<skinsize>800,600</skinsize>
<usedefault>True</usedefault>

<eventbutton>
  <imagename>normalrectangle</imagename>
  <location>0,0,799,598</location>
  <navitem>False</navitem>
  <font>Arial,1.66666666666667%,regular</font>
  <alignment>top left</alignment>
  <backgroundcolor>#96000000</backgroundcolor>
  <keepaspectratio>False</keepaspectratio>
</eventbutton>

<eventbutton>
  <imagename>rectangle</imagename>
  <location>57,29,677,478</location>
  <navitem>False</navitem>
  <font>arial,1.66666666666667%,regular</font>
  <alignment>top left</alignment>
  <backgroundcolor>#96000000</backgroundcolor>
  <backgroundoutlinecolor>#9DB4FF</backgroundoutlinecolor>
  <backgroundoutlinesize>3</backgroundoutlinesize>
  <keepaspectratio>False</keepaspectratio>
</eventbutton>

<eventbutton>
  <imagename>text</imagename>
  <location>83,39,622,449</location>
  <navitem>False</navitem>
  <text>category&gt;weatherimages&gt;cover</text>
  <font>arial,1.66666666666667%,regular</font>
  <alignment>top left</alignment>
  <keepaspectratio>True</keepaspectratio>
</eventbutton>

<eventbutton>
  <eventid>weather:return to weather page</eventid>
  <imagename>Weather.png</imagename>
  <location>85,515,100,57</location>
  <navitem>True</navitem>
  <font>arial,2.5%,regular</font>
  <alignment>top left</alignment>
  <keepaspectratio>True</keepaspectratio>
</eventbutton>

</skin>

You will have to change your background image (if you decide to use one at all), change the skin size to suit your needs, and change the Weather.png file to a button of your choice, and finally have an event that will take you back to your weather screen when clicking on the button.

I hope all this was helpful. If you still want, you can send me an email for the entire skin to try (see my previous email), or we can go through the FTP route (I don't currently have an FTP server set up).

David

*EDIT* I just updated my web page (you can access it by the link below) with updated weather screens and can even download the entire skin. Just follow the xlobby link.
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada

Postby PhilB on Sun Apr 30, 2006 1:09 am

Hey Marbles thanks for the code. I got it working. Seems the maps are very slow to popluate into the database for some reason. Once I got them working I noticed that the resolution was not quite as good as the default 4 images I use in the xWeather plugin. Since I scale the maps large, I prefer to use the default weather channel images.

Have you tried to get more images from the Weather Channel?

Thanks,
PB
PhilB
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 6:38 pm

Postby Marbles_00 on Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:25 am

I've mainly stuck with theweathernetwork.com as it is geared towards Canadian weather. The main thing that is nice to how I'm doing it is that you now can get images from virtually any weather web site. This is advantageous if you have some sort of local weather broadcast/website that offers even better imaging of the area you live in.

Now it would be really cool to be able to get animated radar images to display...ah I'll work on that. :wink:

Have fun.

David
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada

Postby Gizzmo on Tue May 23, 2006 11:03 am

hi,

thanks for your work on xoapweather.

I have question is there a possibility to use xoapweather but to
fetch all informations from another weather homepage ???


I am from Germany so i would like to fetch all informations
from a german weather page. Because of some reasons:

1. get the informations in german
2. get local radar pictures
3. get more german cities


I am a noob in Plugins and so on, because of that it would
be great to use a existing plugin and only modify it ...
Gizzmo
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:43 pm

Postby Atlas on Wed May 24, 2006 3:09 pm

The xoapweather plugin is coded specifically for the XML feed from weather.com. You can however paste in the URL to a specific radar image in the setup.

The source code for xoapweather is available and somewhat modular. If you could get your info from your weather page into a XML doc you could modify the source to use that xml doc instead.
Atlas
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:43 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby Gizzmo on Thu May 25, 2006 11:28 am

so now i only have to understand the Plugin and its parts :shock:

Thanks, i will look if i get into that issue ...
Gizzmo
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:43 pm

Postby Gizzmo on Thu May 25, 2006 11:35 am

so now i only have to understand the Plugin and its parts :shock:

How can i get the informations from for example http://www.wetter.de ?

Is there a tool to grab this information ?


Thanks, i will look if i get into that issue ...


Edit: oh i have recognized that wetter.com has a german part ...
http://www.wetter.com/v2/?LANG=DE
Gizzmo
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Tue May 09, 2006 5:43 pm

Postby JSL on Sat May 27, 2006 5:29 pm

I have a problem with the updating functionality of xoapweather after the computer have woke up from standby mode. It will not update, neither if I use the plugin's updating command.

If I restart Xlobby it works again (also automatically).

Can this be fixed?

JSL
JSL
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:22 am

Postby Atlas on Tue May 30, 2006 3:34 am

Gizzmo:

If the site doesn't provide XML you have to write code to get the html page and parse the info out....if I understand what you are asking. XML is the only generic format....thus why it was invented! :)
Atlas
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:43 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby Atlas on Tue May 30, 2006 3:39 am

JSL:

I was looking at that awhile back but Steven claimed he had fixed an issue with the way he was handling the internet connection and threads dying. It seemed to work but then I got to coding my Netflix plugin and xoapweather kinda went to the back burner. I didn't think about testing waking from standby. Let me look when I get some time and if I can fix it or a workaround I'll do it.
Atlas
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2004 3:43 am
Location: McKinney, TX

Postby JSL on Thu Jun 01, 2006 10:07 pm

Perfect. I would be grateful for any pratical work around, Atlas!
JSL
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Dec 30, 2004 11:22 am

Five Day Forecast

Postby gbirk on Tue Dec 12, 2006 1:49 am

I am using the HeavyMetal Skin. On the five day forecast page, I am having some problems with day 5. I am able to display the detailed outlook for days 1 - 4, but not day 5. I am using the following text:

plugin>xoapweather>current>5>%detaileddayoutlook%

Thanks in advance for nay help.
gbirk
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Nov 23, 2006 12:02 am

Postby el_cabong on Mon Jan 08, 2007 2:34 am

is there a way to make a button that will cycle through the active forcast regions
el_cabong
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 3:43 pm

Postby cmhardwick on Mon Jan 08, 2007 4:05 pm

I believe past day 4, there is no detailed info. I don't get any either.

As to cycling through the active forcast regions, are you meaning the ones you've defined in the plugin? If so, there is are 2 events configured already in most skins, xoapweather/next forcast and xoapweather/previous forcast. Just assign these to buttons and there you go. I use this to see the 4 different cities/regions I monitor.
cmhardwick
 
Posts: 508
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 6:07 pm
Location: Tennessee

PreviousNext