bring up programs in order from windows startup?

Speak your mind

bring up programs in order from windows startup?

Postby amblix on Fri Oct 27, 2006 5:26 pm

Since hubgui needs to open first is there anyway to bring up certain programs in a certain order?

I need it to be

hubgui
homeseer
xlobby
amblix
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:40 pm

Postby cinOxen on Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:16 pm

You could create a vbs file that opened all three with delays between them.
cinOxen
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 6:19 pm

Postby cinOxen on Fri Oct 27, 2006 9:24 pm

Something like:

Code: Select all
Dim objShell
dim prog_one
dim prog_two
dim prog_three

Set objShell = CreateObject( "Wscript.Shell" )

prog_one = """Path to prog_one""  /commandline switches"
prog_two = """Path to prog_two""  /commandline switches"
prog_three = """Path to prog_three""  /commandline switches"

objShell.Run prog_one

wScript.Sleep(5000)

objShell.Run prog_two

wScript.Sleep(5000)

objShell.Run prog_three

cinOxen
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 6:19 pm

Postby tswhite70 on Tue Oct 31, 2006 6:53 pm

If you have girder installed, you can do it with a multievent set to fire on Startup.

good luck,
tsw
tswhite70
 
Posts: 318
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Postby P3rv3rt B3ar on Tue Oct 31, 2006 7:29 pm

I had to ponder with this a little while ago also. in my case Girder and IRTrans had to be bring up in certain order, and there was even need for short pause to catch a breath in between.

I solved issue with simple batch file. Batch file is fired from startup folder and batch file triggers programs.

Now only small complication in this setup is that sleep command doesnt belong to vocabulary of regular plain windows. U can however download free from microsoft some windows toolkit which includes it.

If u choose this strategy... i can dig up the name or download link for that windows extension...
P3rv3rt B3ar
 
Posts: 1364
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:52 pm
Location: West Coast Funland

Postby cinOxen on Tue Oct 31, 2006 9:00 pm

You got to love it when there are 3 solutions to a problem. :)
cinOxen
 
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 6:19 pm

Postby amblix on Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:18 pm

would you mind if I took a look at your bat file?

Thank you!
amblix
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:40 pm

Postby P3rv3rt B3ar on Thu Nov 02, 2006 5:32 pm

Certainly not, my file is only these three lines:

Code: Select all
IRTrans.lnk
sleep 2
Girder3.lnk


when i told u about this earlier i didnt remember the fact that i actually triggered .lnk files on bat-file. I don't remember what is reasoning for this... probably i just have considered it easiest way and copied foremer startup links from startup folder to same folder that .bat is in, so ive had not to see trough all the trouble to find out where actual programs are located.

Like i told, only problem in that is that sleep command is not part of plain windows... il try to look that windows toolkit from net and get back to u.
P3rv3rt B3ar
 
Posts: 1364
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:52 pm
Location: West Coast Funland

Postby R32 on Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:33 pm

You can also pause your batch file simply by using good 'ol ping. Simply add: ping -n 20 localhost>nul where '-n 20' is the number of echo requests to send. You may need to increase/decrease the number 20 to suit your needs.
R32
 
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2006 11:24 pm

Postby P3rv3rt B3ar on Fri Nov 03, 2006 11:47 pm

Thanx for that R32... now i dont need to try to find that toolkit anymore... i was having problems of locating it again...
P3rv3rt B3ar
 
Posts: 1364
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2006 9:52 pm
Location: West Coast Funland

Postby amblix on Mon Nov 13, 2006 5:17 pm

thank you both!!! :)
amblix
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:40 pm