RS-232 hub

Lifts, Sprinkler Control, Shades, Etc.

RS-232 hub

Postby vaporhat on Wed Jan 13, 2010 5:42 pm

Is anyone else using this type of hub?

I currently have a few PCI expansion cards in my PC but space is getting tight and every time I pull the machine to make updates or changes it gets to be a pain with the port numbering.

Was thinking something like this would be easier but wasn't sure if I would experience any issues with command collisions though the USB? Does calrad offer a similar product?

http://www.startech.com/item/ICUSB2328- ... apter.aspx


Image
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.

Re: RS-232 hub

Postby wesblack on Wed Jan 13, 2010 8:50 pm

I have used this type of solution in the past at low baud rates, worked great. For most products you should be fine. Not sure about 100% compatibility at high baud rates in full duplex. Some conversion boxes have problems consistantly recongnizing the device on restart\bootup, remember if the device crashes all the ports go down. I had prototypes with a factory in Asia we do business with over a year ago but there was no demand for it so we left it alone. When we open the xLobby store we can show a solution that works and see what kind of need or demand we receive from user's. I also had a few produts that were IP addressable for use on a network.


Image

Wes Black \ Calrad
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: RS-232 hub

Postby billberet on Thu Jan 14, 2010 5:31 pm

i currently use the octopus 550
it's an 8 port serial card, so far works great, instant response.

http://www.shopwiki.com/Octopus-550+PCI ... rial+Board
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: RS-232 hub

Postby vaporhat on Thu Jan 14, 2010 6:48 pm

billberet wrote:i currently use the octopus 550
it's an 8 port serial card, so far works great, instant response.

http://www.shopwiki.com/Octopus-550+PCI ... rial+Board



Now that's a nice option... thank you!
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.

Re: RS-232 hub

Postby Marbles_00 on Mon Jan 18, 2010 3:50 pm

There's also RocketPort
http://www.comtrol.com/products/multi-port-serial-cards

and Blue Heat:
http://www.connecttech.com/sub/Products ... _RS232.asp

Used them both in my previous place of employment. RocketPort cards are pretty pricey.
Image
Mayhem Creations
where my:
    -Music Distribution
    -HTPC
    -MediaPVR
    -UnRAID box
    -OTA
are all discussed.

Xlobby Free Zone
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada


Return to Home Automation Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron