decode DTS to rca stereo

V3 help and support questions

decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby billberet on Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:43 am

hey everyone, from XL i am doing a spdif out to all my tv's
my theater has a full sterio system so i have no issue, but all my other tv's have issues (they do not have a sterio to decode).

i have reciently updated my library to bluray versions of the movies.
the issue i have with bluray is it is encoded with DTS sound.

what is a good DTS to RCA sterio decoder, that will also convert ac3, and dolby.

i am currently using the GefenTV Digital to Analog Decoder ,
takes audio encoded in Dolby Digital (at up to 5.1 channels) from your multi-channel S/PDIF or TOSLink digital audio source and converts it to L/R analog audio
but they do not handle DTS streams.
here is the unit:
http://www.google.com/products/catalog? ... MBEPICMAI#

what is a good decoder that can handle all kinds of audio streams, from dts to dd to ac3 and end up with rca sterio?


thanks
-bb
Last edited by billberet on Fri Jan 06, 2012 2:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby billberet on Thu Jan 05, 2012 5:14 am

one way around this is to force ffdshow to output pcm, turn off the S/PDIF Pass-Through .
but i don't want to have to manually go into ffdshow every time i want to watch either a DD audio or a DTS audio movie.
is there a way to edit ffdshow from XL? to check or uncheck different features.

then i can just have a button that would turn on or off the Pass-Through ability.
thru the software, i can get it to work, but my only other alternative would be to decode the signal at each tv.
which is my post above.


any ideas would be helpful, i am starting to lose some hair over this, lol
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby wesblack on Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:42 pm

Bill,

We were going to carry this unit last year but never moved forward with adding it to the line, changing markets and lack of interest from customers.

http://xlobby.com/news/2010/05/07/xlobby-dolby-digital-dts-audio-decoders-preview/

Change sterio to stereo... :D

Wes
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby billberet on Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:45 pm

hey Wes,
i was looking at this module but i was hesitant. am i able to get regular sterio out of this?
i see it decodes dts, but my tv's only have sterio inputs and this unit decodes dts to 5.1, not sterio specifically (L and R).

what do you think?
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby wesblack on Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:51 pm

Yes.....the FL + FR RCA outputs are analog stereo decoded audio.
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby billberet on Thu Jan 05, 2012 3:52 pm

yooohoooo
you solved my crysis, 'again'
lol

i will post an update on the results.
now i can finally watch my blurays in the rest of my house outside my theater.




i can't seem to find this specific one that has 'HD Audio' on the front.
or if you have any demo units in stock, i'll take them off your hands :)
thanks Wes
****edit***
found one version by Sewell Inc.
it looks exactly as the one you posted.
is this the correct MFG?
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby wesblack on Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:10 pm

Bill,

I think several companies online have this exact same piece...you will have to look around.


Wes
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby billberet on Thu Jan 05, 2012 4:14 pm

gotcha, i picked it up, and give it a test.
:)
thanks again
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby Jay on Thu Jan 05, 2012 8:38 pm

Happy New Year BB!
STEREO. S-T-E-R-E-O ; D

Wes, I'll drop by booth 20220 and say 'Hi' next week.
Jay
 
Posts: 950
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 6:28 pm
Location: Kiawah Island, SC US

Re: decode DTS to rca sterio

Postby billberet on Fri Jan 06, 2012 5:02 am

i always believed stereo should have an 'i' in it, lol
sterio looks better than stereo

lol
;)
that's my answer and i'm sticking with it, hahahahaha
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby billberet on Tue Jan 10, 2012 4:45 am

i got my decoder, good news and bad news.
it works and not work at the same time, lol

there is a button to click on 2 channel, by default it always goes to 5.1
if you click it to use 2 channel, it works while the movie is playing. once the signal ends, it defaults back to 5.1
so i have to go to the tv and click 2 channel for it to work again for every movie i play.

good thing you didn't continue on this path, i don't think clients would want to keep manually chosing 2 channel before every movie.
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby lar282 on Tue Jan 10, 2012 8:09 am

Hi
Gotta ask?

So u have ONE Xlobby and multiple TV's?
The xlobby puts out the video to ALL TV's at the same time?

I gotta see that diagram -:)

//Lasse
Image
lar282
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby billberet on Tue Jan 10, 2012 2:59 pm

yes sir,

i have one xl server that outputs to all my tv's. touchscreens in every room that control XL.
my xl server outputs component to a gefen component distribution matrix.
from there it can output to one or all tv's (at the same time)

so if i'm playing xbox in my living room and my wife comes home and wants to watch something.
i hit pause, and xl tells the gefen to redirect the xbox signal downstairs. then the downstairs tv will turn on
and my xbox will be waiting for me when i get there, just unpause and continue.

every video source goes into my gefen, then xl (thru serial) is the traffic cop that directs everyone around.
works great. in fact i have outgrown it, i need a bigger distribution matrix because i have more video sources.
:)

it's not the best picture, but here is my rack,
my xl machine is at the bottom, i didn't get it in the pic.
i keep everything in one central location, so all the rooms just have a simple tv and touchscreen, nice and clean.
Image
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby lar282 on Wed Jan 11, 2012 2:52 pm

WAOOOOOW :shock:


Question: How do you make the xbox controllers reach all over the house?

//Lasse
Image
lar282
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: decode DTS to rca stereo

Postby billberet on Wed Jan 11, 2012 3:36 pm

nothing special, they reach far by default.
fresh batteries help ALOT !!!!
lol
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Next

Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron