Has anyone managed to control Xlobby with IP or RS232?

V3 help and support questions

Has anyone managed to control Xlobby with IP or RS232?

Postby CaM on Wed Apr 20, 2011 6:54 pm

hi, I wish to control Xlobby via IP or RS232. Has anyone managed to do this?

i.e. via a remote or EventGhost

thanks

CaM
CaM
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:05 am
Location: NZ - living in France

Re: Has anyone managed to control Xlobby with IP or RS232?

Postby wesblack on Wed Apr 20, 2011 11:26 pm

wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: Has anyone managed to control Xlobby with IP or RS232?

Postby CaM on Tue Apr 26, 2011 11:19 am

hi Wes, thanks for replying.

I am using version 3 and have tried to get Xlobby to respond to RS232 triggers.

I have tried using the following

Global Cache (GC-12-100) via RS232
Nevo Remote (Q70 with Nevo Connect) via RS232
HW Virtural Serial Port (using EventGhost) via virtual RS232

In each case nothing happens. There is nothing mentioned in the Xlobby log regarding RS232 so it is difficult to know wherre the issue lies. I also have a usb-uirt but I find the device to unreliable.

Have you managed to get the RS232 trigger working yourself and if so - how?

thanks

CaM
CaM
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:05 am
Location: NZ - living in France

Re: Has anyone managed to control Xlobby with IP or RS232?

Postby wesblack on Tue Apr 26, 2011 3:26 pm

Try Using a null modem serial cable or adapter, pins 2 and 3 on one end of the DB9 connector need to be reversed.

Standard RS232 Pin for Pin Cable.
RS232 standard cable.gif


Null Modem Rs232 Cable with pins 2, 3 reversed.
RS232 Null Modem Cable.png
RS232 Null Modem Cable.png (1.04 KiB) Viewed 4237 times


Very Important....! In the setup menu, you must select the correct RS232 port for communication and have the RS232 port enabled, see the screenshot below. Also make sure your communicaions settings are correct, baud rate, etc.. Once the correct RS232 port is selected and enabled then the log will show all the data for external RS232 control.

Screenshot Control xLobby by external RS232.jpg
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: Has anyone managed to control Xlobby with IP or RS232?

Postby CaM on Tue Apr 26, 2011 7:42 pm

hi Wes, thanks for the detailed information.

I will try a null modem cable.

thanks

CaM
CaM
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:05 am
Location: NZ - living in France


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron