HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Share and exchange RS232 codes here

HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby vaporhat on Tue Dec 08, 2009 3:59 pm

I have been trying to get the full 2-way rs-232 communication going although so far without success. :?

Is anyone else using this switcher? Can you post an example of the commands?
Attachments
20090602102244_RS232-Command.pdf
(260.19 KiB) Downloaded 265 times
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.

Re: HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby wesblack on Tue Dec 08, 2009 9:56 pm

Oh not Monoprice........... :( Enough said.

We have a switcher that is 4 x 2 HDMI with RS232 on way control strings, realize most small switchers like this are one way RS232 commands or simple IR to control the switcher. Larger switchers usually have full 2 way communication with status. Call me if you want to discuss this further.



Image

Wes Black \ Calrad
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby vaporhat on Wed Dec 09, 2009 1:51 am

In the documentation that I posted it says "PC receive the matrix system data" and "PC send controls to matrix". My thought was that those were 2-way formats? I am far from an expert in this area so I could easily be wrong :( I should have bought a Calrad switch :(

In any case, it would be nice to finally have this piece of hardware under rs232 control, with out without receiving a status. But I am having difficulty. Someone please but me in check...

My interpretation of the command string is:

byte1, byte 2, byte, 3, byte, 4

Example on/off:
0x10:0xd5:0x7b

(I am not sure what byte 2 is? Possibly a 2nd command so you can set output 1 and 2?)
This is what I have and does not work :( I tried all sorts of variations. I also tried the xController program. I was able to connect, but that's about it.
Attachments
untitled.jpg
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.

Re: HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby wesblack on Wed Dec 09, 2009 7:52 pm

I assume this is your switcher below. The best way to communicate with the switcher is to use the xLobby xcontroller.
Link:http://xlobby.com/news/2009/04/16/xlobby-xcontroller-uconnect/ using this method you can acheive full 2 way RS232 communication.

Let me look at this, busy getting ready for CES, I will post back more details when I have a moment so you can start testing.



4x2 HDMI Switcher RS232.jpg



Image

Wes Black \ Calrad
wesblack
 
Posts: 1134
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2007 5:02 pm
Location: Valencia, Ca

Re: HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby vaporhat on Wed Dec 09, 2009 8:09 pm

Wes, that's the guy!

I would love to understand more about xController. I have read thought he documentation and have been fumbling around with it. But I haven't been able to actually get any command to register back inside the command window using the switch. No issues establishing a connection.

Maybe I will pursue this further with one of my other components that also supports 2-way communication that I already have rs-232 control over.

Good luck at CES!! We can talk more about this when you get back and spin down a little ;)
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.

Re: HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby vaporhat on Fri May 21, 2010 8:16 pm

These are the rs232 codes for this switcher. Yeah I know it too me long enough.. but better late than never. I was seriously distracted by other tasks. For this switcher you do need a null modem cable (despite what monoprice told me).

On/Off
A1
A2
A3
A4
B1
B2
B3
B4
Attachments
4x2 HDMI Monoprice.xml
(3.02 KiB) Downloaded 451 times
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.

Re: HDMI 4x2 switcher - Monoprice

Postby vaporhat on Tue May 25, 2010 5:56 pm

If anyone was curious how you calculated the byte 2 (~order)

0x0

using win calc, Hex, Byte

00 Not = FF
01 Not = FE
02 Not = FD

If anyone figures out how to receive the 2-way status command, please post it up. It would be nice to get a status of the device for a more elegant integration.
-3RiC
vaporhat
 
Posts: 273
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 11:56 pm
Location: CT, U.S.A.


Return to RS232 Control Library

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron