Server issues with databases

You find a bug! You post it here!

Server issues with databases

Postby Grooby on Tue Feb 09, 2010 10:52 pm

Hi

I have an unRAID server with all my media which feeds my xlobby machine. The problem i have is that xlobby keeps seeing all my media as "off line" everytime i fire it up. I have to re-import all the data in the databases for it to play music/movies.

Any ideas what is going on?

Andy :(
skinning for the fun of it
Grooby
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 12:53 pm
Location: England

Re: Server issues with databases

Postby CaM on Tue Feb 09, 2010 11:25 pm

Hi, I am getting the same issue.

It seems I have to not only WOL but also open up the network folder for it to work.

CaM


Grooby wrote:Hi

I have an unRAID server with all my media which feeds my xlobby machine. The problem i have is that xlobby keeps seeing all my media as "off line" everytime i fire it up. I have to re-import all the data in the databases for it to play music/movies.

Any ideas what is going on?

Andy :(
CaM
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:05 am
Location: NZ - living in France

Re: Server issues with databases

Postby Grooby on Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:34 am

Wes?
skinning for the fun of it
Grooby
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 12:53 pm
Location: England

Re: Server issues with databases

Postby lar282 on Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:34 pm

Grooby wrote:Hi

I have an unRAID server with all my media which feeds my xlobby machine. The problem i have is that xlobby keeps seeing all my media as "off line" everytime i fire it up. I have to re-import all the data in the databases for it to play music/movies.

Any ideas what is going on?

Andy :(

Do u fire it up from cold, or is it different in standby/hibernate?
Do u map drives or use unc path?
Try this:
start computer
delay start of xlobby with 30 sec, then see if it works. Could be the network is not ready when XL starts. Same goes for hibernate and stuff, then u need to touch the drives. I run a bat file on resume automatically to DIR /s the mapped drive..


//Lasse
Image
lar282
 
Posts: 1682
Joined: Thu Apr 01, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Helsingborg, Sweden

Re: Server issues with databases

Postby Grooby on Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:12 pm

Had a word with one of our IT guys, gonna try not using mapped drive short-cut and try to use "\\" for a direct link to server folders. (also suggested by Lars)

EDIT

Ok i think i have fixed the problem, i had pointed to the mapped drives in "my computer" rather than through "my network". I have changed it by linking to media through "my network" \\... seems to be working (so far, fingers crossed)
skinning for the fun of it
Grooby
 
Posts: 444
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 12:53 pm
Location: England

Re: Server issues with databases

Postby billberet on Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:38 pm

you should be ok,
i use the \\ method as well, works great with server and clients.
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: Server issues with databases

Postby CaM on Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:59 pm

Hi, I use to use \\ for my access but found I had suspend issues in Xlobby.

I now use drive mappings, with allows me to work on my other suspend issues with Xlobby.....

CaM


billberet wrote:you should be ok,
i use the \\ method as well, works great with server and clients.
CaM
 
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2004 11:05 am
Location: NZ - living in France


Return to Bug Tracking / Reports

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron