Cool (?) Ethernet Tuner: HDHomerun by SiliconDust

good place to post your setup and get feedback from others.

Cool (?) Ethernet Tuner: HDHomerun by SiliconDust

Postby de3pc77 on Thu Jan 11, 2007 1:50 pm

Has anyone used the HDHomerun by Silicon Dust? (http://www.silicondust.com/)

It looks like it is a great alternative to PCI/USB tuners and can be used to watch TV from anywhere in the house (even wirelessly, tho quality may be an issue with slower networks). And its dual tuner ATSC/QAM support. I have not bought one yet, but am considering it.

There is a discussion here...
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=731457

or better ones at the silicon dust forum...
de3pc77
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jan 04, 2007 1:38 am

Postby Naylia on Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:59 pm

Here's a review at missingremote.com
http://www.missingremote.com/index.php? ... Itemid=152
Naylia
 
Posts: 530
Joined: Tue Oct 19, 2004 7:50 pm
Location: Boston, MA

Postby Marbles_00 on Thu Jan 11, 2007 5:26 pm

This is a cool looking box. I do have a question, and maybe its just my total lack of understanding on the broadcasting of HD signals. But from what I can see, most of the HD content that we can get (well at least here in Canada) is encrypted by the service provider, so your forced into using one of their boxes to de-crypt the signal and then output to the TV, so I guess I'm wondering, how a box like this or any HD tuner/capture card will be of any benifit?
Image
Mayhem Creations
where my:
    -Music Distribution
    -HTPC
    -MediaPVR
    -UnRAID box
    -OTA
are all discussed.

Xlobby Free Zone
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada

Postby tswhite70 on Thu Jan 11, 2007 6:00 pm

Marbles - as for QAM/cable the HDHomerun (along with the later Fusion cards that are QAM compatible) can only tune those channels that your cable provider sends unencrypted. Usually, at least in the US these are your local big network stations (CBS, NBC, ABC, etc), but there's no gaurantee. You would need to check with your local provider / or check AVSforum / or just buy one and test to see what's available from your provider in the clear.

I've been thinking about the HDhomerun as I'd like to add a couple more tuners for HD to my current dual tuner analog setup. The nice things about the HDHomerun seem to be that it is network based (no card slots taken, don't have to worry about IRQ's or drivers really). It has 2 tuners that can be connected ATSC/ATSC, QAM/ATSC, or QAM/QAM. And it's supported in SageTV (which is really why I'm interested in this particular solution).

See the Sage thread: http://forums.sagetv.com/forums/showthread.php?t=20549

good luck,
tsw
Image
tswhite70
 
Posts: 319
Joined: Tue Jan 06, 2004 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, Tx

Postby jmv on Thu Jan 25, 2007 2:18 pm

I've had a HDHomerun for ~1 week and ordered the second one. I'm on my way to SageMC/SageTV. Back up on the learning curve. I have the Homerun being fed by Comcast cable in OR, and all the broadcast analog and HD Digital are available through the HDHomeRun...also gets a few other stations like Vs. and Discovery...too bad comcast doesn't broadcast all the standard stuff unencrypted...but for me it hits 90% of my desired PVR viewing habits.
jmv
 
Posts: 82
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2003 2:46 pm


Return to My Home Theater

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron