2 little questions

Xlobby plugin development

2 little questions

Postby badubo on Sat Jun 26, 2004 12:08 am

Hello, I'm still in the process of understanding how plugins are working.
I have two questions :

1 : In the event manager, we can execute plugin commands that are listed by the plugin. But how is the "variables" field working. I didn't receive the content of this field in the plugin

2 : Is it possible to access some xlobby variables inside the plugin ?
I'm considering using the "epg" based variables.
Badubo
Member of XLobby FR Team
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
badubo
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby stevenhanna6 on Sun Jun 27, 2004 12:53 am

1 : In the event manager, we can execute plugin commands that are listed by the plugin. But how is the "variables" field working. I didn't receive the content of this field in the plugin


might not be working, I will look into it

2 : Is it possible to access some xlobby variables inside the plugin ?
I'm considering using the "epg" based variables.


sure that is 100% possible, I will just have to add it....what kind of variables do you need? just the currently selected program variables?
stevenhanna6
 
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 10:39 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby badubo on Sun Jun 27, 2004 11:05 am

might not be working, I will look into it

Thanks, I tried but the "variables" are not embedded in the command (but may be we must search elsewhere?


what kind of variables do you need?



It is difficult to say, I'm working to a specific project (K!TV as an EPG drived plugin) but I think that in a generic way, we can need virtually all info that a skin developper can use as example :
-retrieving the "category>XXX>YYYY"
-audioplayer>XXXX
-EPG>XXXX
-more specific info (the skin used, the actual screen, the resolution, ...)
- location and size of some specific resource ID (see below)


Another interresting feature will be to be able to be called througt a callback when events are triggered from xlobby.

example :

For a television app like ktv, we can open it at a specific position with a specified size, it will be a good idea for simplifying skin development to only have to create a resource (button or text) on the screen with a specific ID (let's say screenname_ktv where screenname is for example TV).
Then the plugin receives a call back when the user change the screen that will allow to find if the new screen has a resource with the requested ID and then open the application at the same position and same size. So the plugin app can work exactly as a normal button....
Badubo
Member of XLobby FR Team
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
badubo
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby badubo on Mon Jun 28, 2004 8:08 am

Hello,

I will continue my wishlist :oops:

I didn't find a way to detect that xlobby is exiting (I have the habit with C/C++, so I created a destructor, but it is not called)

My plugin is starting (and controlling) an external application. When xlobby exits, the app is still opened. Is it possible to have a method like "Dispose"

Thanks for all
Badubo
Member of XLobby FR Team
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
badubo
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby badubo on Thu Jul 01, 2004 5:44 pm

Any news about using argument with plugin commands?
Badubo
Member of XLobby FR Team
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
badubo
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby maniac's on Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:25 pm

Hi badubo.

You're programming in C# right ? So check the namespace system.diagnostics, it contains the Process class that you can use to check if a process named XLobby exists or not !

Code: Select all
// Get all instances of Notepad running on the local
// computer.
  Process [] localByName = Process.GetProcessesByName("notepad");


Hope this help, because I'll love to have Xlobby->Tv interaction !
maniac's
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Paris - France

Postby badubo on Fri Jul 02, 2004 12:37 pm

Hello,

I don't understand at which question you answer ?


May be you incorrectly read :
I didn't find a way to detect that xlobby is exiting

(I must admit that I may be use a bad English :roll: )
I know that xlobby exists as I'm writting a plugin that exists only when xlobby is running.

What I am looking for is a Notification when you quit xlobby. To be sure that I clean up the running application (ktv)

but Thanks for your help
Badubo
Member of XLobby FR Team
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
badubo
 
Posts: 505
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 7:33 pm
Location: Belgium

Postby stevenhanna6 on Sun Jul 18, 2004 2:54 am

badubo, I will now send a "close" command to each plugin before xlobby exits.

Code: Select all
public void Execute(string command)
{
if(command == "close")
{
//xlobby is exiting do stuff         
}
}


http://www.xlobby.com/xlobby2.zip
stevenhanna6
 
Posts: 934
Joined: Tue Feb 18, 2003 10:39 am
Location: Ontario, Canada


Return to Plugins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron