creating an overlay

This is the place to post your skins, and discuss skinning

creating an overlay

Postby billberet on Sat Oct 11, 2008 11:18 pm

Hey everyone,
i've been working on the heavymetal_t skin and i combined it with some of the parts of dragon.

on my cablebox control screen i ran out of space for buttons so i wanted to do an overlay.
what i want to do is show DVR controls on an overlay that is transparent.
i've seen the overlay of password with mature movies.
i want to do the exact thing, hit a button that puts an overlay of DVR controls over
my existing page. I don't want to go to a new page, i just want the overlay on top and i can see the origional page below.

currently i have a new page opening with the controls, but i don't want to have to reload pages all the time.
goto:dvr_controls on the event of the button


what is the best way to do this?

thanks again
-bb
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: creating an overlay

Postby Marbles_00 on Sun Oct 12, 2008 3:14 am

goto:dvr_controls on the event of the button


Nope, use the "show overlay" command. Then have a button on the overlay screen to tied to a "close overlay" event.
Image
Mayhem Creations
where my:
    -Music Distribution
    -HTPC
    -MediaPVR
    -UnRAID box
    -OTA
are all discussed.

Xlobby Free Zone
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada

Re: creating an overlay

Postby billberet on Sun Oct 12, 2008 6:08 pm

gotcha, works great, thanks again

one more question

i've looked all over but can't seem to find how to work on multiple buttons at once
like alignment.
on the skin editor, default tab, the bottom alignment buttons are greyed out.
i tried alt click, shift click, ctrl click. how do i click on multiple buttons to turn on the alignment feature?

Thanks again Marbles.
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC

Re: creating an overlay

Postby Marbles_00 on Mon Oct 13, 2008 1:55 am

place mouse anywhere in the skin, and left click once. Hold down the shift key, click and hold the left mouse button, and dray mouse across your selected group of items. If it works then as you drag, you should see a green dotted rectangle around the items. You should then see the alignment tools un-grayed.
Image
Mayhem Creations
where my:
    -Music Distribution
    -HTPC
    -MediaPVR
    -UnRAID box
    -OTA
are all discussed.

Xlobby Free Zone
Marbles_00
 
Posts: 1882
Joined: Wed Apr 06, 2005 12:44 pm
Location: Canada

Re: creating an overlay

Postby billberet on Mon Oct 13, 2008 2:36 pm

thanks

i'll give it a try.
you've been a great help

-bb
Image
billberet
 
Posts: 738
Joined: Mon Sep 29, 2008 9:26 pm
Location: NYC


Return to Skins

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron